#sunathon: The Experience

Now that the week of #sunathon has been lived, enjoyed and put into our recent past, I thought it was time to give you an overview of how I experienced this lovely readathon, created by Emma Louise.

It brought me joy. Not only do I love reading (obviously) but with everything that’s been going on lately, it gave me an escape. I met a few lovely people who made me laugh throughout the week while we discussed whether or not Harry Potter would describe Voldemort as “the creepiest dude I’ve ever met”, a comment that was based upon Vane from the Sky Fall series by Shannon Messenger describing his nemesis.

Nice fact: I typed in ‘nemesis‘ in my dictionary to make sure I spelled it correctly and this is what it said: a long-standing rival; an archenemy: will Harry Potter finally defeat his nemesis, Voldemort? THAT IS AMAZING. I totally love how Harry Potter is taking over the world. Now getting back ON topic…

Besides me meeting new people, it also was the perfect opportunity to give me the boost that I needed. Most readathons cause me to panic. A lot. They give challenges, and I’m a very competitive person so I try hard to complete them all, but I’ve been failing pretty much everything because of life, which annoys me to the maximum. However, #sunathon was so carefree and was all about the experience to just read, that it helped me to (almost) complete my goal instead of turning me into a crazy-eyed stress ball reading absolutely nothing in the end. I only had 135 pages left to read.

As you can see from the above picture, my goal was to read four books and of course, I’ll be reviewing them. However, with my mum being ill and me pretty much taking care of my dad and making sure the house doesn’t turn into one pile of messy stuff lingering everywhere, I’ll have to spread the reviews over a few weeks to give me enough time to write, reread and edit them.

  • Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger: review on 29th of July OR 30th (depending if I have time to edit it today but definitely this week)
  • Let the Storm Break by Shannon Messenger: review on 5th of August
  • You’re the One That I Want by Giovanna Fletcher: review on 12th of August
  • The Single Girl’s To-Do List by Lindsey Kelk: review on 19th of Augst

Can you tell I’m dragging out the buzz from #sunathon to enjoy it for as long as possible? Yes? Well, it’s meant to.

Did you participate in #sunathon? How many books did you manage to read and how did you experience this readathon?

Leave a Reply

