What did you eat today?

It’s another Question Monday! Like I’ve mentioned previously, this idea is based upon the Q&A a day by Potter Style. Today I’ll be talking about what I ate and how (ir)regular I am with keeping a healthy lifestyle on a daily basis.

My friends, family and coworkers know that I’m currently going through a bit of a rough moment  and I am an emotional eater. I can eat, eat and eat but never feel satisfied. It’s an annoying habit because, as you can guess, eating too much can result in overweight. I’m not going to say how much I weigh, hehe I’m not that comfortable with that, but let’s just say that two years ago I was at a much better place. 

I skip breakfast most days and although breakfast should never be skipped, it’s something that happens more often than I’d like to admit. Like I mentioned last week, I’m lazy in the morning. However, when I feel hungry I make an effort. Like today (usually I’m hungry on Mondays & Tuesdays, Wednesdays I can’t be bothered anymore even if I am hungry and Thursdays and Fridays are simply ignored), I had the last of my Chocos Cornflakes, which is also why my bowl is a bit fuller than usual. I added some low-fat milk to make it tastier too, plus milk takes away my thirst and it’s always so fresh! Mmm.

Food Collage
1. Cornflakes  2. Vegetable soup  3. Savoy cabbage with meatball and crisps of bacon  4. Toast with grapes and cheese

On an average day, I don’t eat anything between breakfast and lunch. I’m simply not hungry but today was a nice surprise! And believe me when I say it wasn’t planned. My aunt had some leftover soup so she decided to share it with the lot of us (lot = mum, dad, brother, two coworkers and me). It was amazing and so welcome after this night’s snow. Brrr. Something nice to warm ourselves!

Lunch is my favourite moment of the day. I always have high expectations of what I eat around this time. Probably because I am starved by then, but I like warm food too. Today, I had savoy cabbage mashed together with potatoes and crisps of bacon and a meatball. It looks a bit burnt on the photo (and it was a tiny bit) but not as bad as it appears, just a nice crusty layer. Oh yum! I wish I could have had this for dinner again…

Finally, I ended my day on a lighter note. I try not to eat anything from lunch to dinner, which isn’t always easy, but today it worked out alright. I don’t know if this is healthy or not but I know that  once I start putting something in my mouth, I suddenly crave everything so I try to postpone food in my mouth for as long as possible. Today, I had a few toasts with some cheese and because I am trying to be a bit more healthy, I optioned for some fruit too: grapes. I don’t like fruit all that much but grapes are in my top five so it was a nice dinner meal. I just hope I won’t get hungry in a few hours!

I’d like to add that I didn’t omit any sweets to appear more healthy online. Besides eating chocolate or biscuits with chocolate, I don’t eat a lot of sweets in general unless on rare occasions or when it’s weekend.

What did you eat today? Or what’s a typical eating day for you? Do you skip breakfast too or do you insist on taking that extra time in the morning? Do you eat snacks between meals unlike me?

Let me know in the comment box! And if you want to write your own post on this subject, please link back to me and I’ll make sure to check it out too! 🙂

Have a lovely week and I’ll see you all again on Sunday for another book review.

Fien
xxx

2 thoughts on “What did you eat today?”

  1. Oh I so know what you mean about what happens to you with breakfast; I am such a strong believer in how important it is, yet by the end of my own work week I’ve been finding myself slipping too! By then, I’m too chronically sleep deprived and busy to feel like getting up earlier to eat it. I tell myself I have to fix that but it keeps happening! I especially miss my morning coffee those days…maybe if I can stop staying up too late I can make it all work! If only I weren’t a night owl…anyway, I am loving these question posts; keep them coming! 🙂

Leave a Reply

