The Summer of Series Challenge

The summer months have arrived and I’m preparing myself for my three weeks holiday in July. Reading will be a huge part of my break and of course, reading is so much more enjoyable when joining a challenge (or two/three/four?). I’ve decided to join the Summer of Series challenge this year, hosted by Danielle from Love at First Page and Lili from Lili’s Reflections.

This summer challenge is to encourage us readers to finish those book series that have been on our TBR shelf for as long as we can remember. The full explanation and requirements can be found here. What’s even more fun, it’s open to everyone! Even tiny Belgium can participate. I’ve experienced quite a lot of bumps on the ride being not a UK/US citizen this year (boo) so I’m thrilled I can join the fun for a change. My gratitude to the ladies!

All I need to do is read and complete a series with a minimum of three books each summer month and if I feel like adding more books that are part of a series to my TBR pile, I can. So without further ado, let me talk you through the series I’ve chosen to read this summer.

The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa photo The Iron Fey series_zps9yewumws.jpgThe Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa

Once upon a time in a far, far country named Belgium, I started to read The Iron King. Perhaps I was not in the mood for this series, but it took me ages to finish the first book (I sometimes neglect my books when I come across a good tv series and then need to watch it entirely. The books hate me for it.) but somehow I never continued reading the other three books in the series because of this.

It’s been annoying me that the other three have been on my TBR shelf for so long now that I decided that now was a good moment like any to reread the first book – since I have no idea what happened anymore – and then continue with the rest so that I can finally put them on a different shelf.

These series will count for the June entry, hopefully, if all turns out well for me. Like I said, I tend to get distracted and right now, Once Upon a Time is my distraction! EEK.

The Legend Series by Marie Lu photo Legend Series_zpslox8ap0g.jpgThe Legend series by Marie Lu

To add a bit of a mixture to my reading, I decided on reading a YA science fiction, dystopian series called Legend to replace the YA fantasy series above.

I bought the first book last summer because I had heard so many great things about the series and as I will have the book for a year now in July, I thought it fitting to choose this series for the July entry.

Despite of hearing a lot of this series, I don’t know much about it. So if you’ve read this series already, be welcome to let me know in a comment what you thought of it and if I’ve made a good choice! I’m a bit nervous about this, to be honest…!

The His Fair Assassin series by Robin LaFevers

 photo His Fair Assassin series_zpsi3a7ke0v.jpgDeciding which series I want to read in August, was a tough call. I have so many series on my TBR but none that would count for the entry of August as those books are usually the final ones of a series and I’m only allowed to reread the first book. Those that do count are usually the first in a series of seven to nine books. I’m working again in August so I don’t see those working out well for me either.

The next best thing: ask my tweeps! Emma from The Beauty of Literature suggested that I should check out the His Fair Assassin series by Robin LaFevers and it sounds like the perfect series for me to finish this challenge. It’s a YA, historical fantasy and to be fair, I do like to read a lot of historical books even though I don’t always review them (I find them so hard because they’re just perrrrfect and history is so complex that I feel like a total idiot when I do try to review them!).

Random books from series

 photo Random series_zpsxujulyo7.jpg

As I’ve mentioned a bit earlier, I have quite a few books on my TBR shelf that are part of a series. I have selected four out of this pile as I’ve been wanting to read them for ages.

I’ve been obsessed with the Outlander series for almost three months now (We little Belgians are a bit behind with hypes as per usual – and although I have been interested in the series a lot longer than this thanks to booktuber Sasha from Abooktopia, I never realised how into this I’d be until I saw the first episode of season one in March. I am SOLD. And it also reminded me why I’ve been in love with Scotland and Scots for as long as I can remember. I just, sort of forgot for a while, too busy with not being a student anymore). So Outlander, and Jamie more specific, has been on my mind pretty much 24/7 which is also why I’m including the second book, Dragonfly in Amber, onto my TBR pile for the Summer of Series challenge.

Last year in September, I read and saw If I Stay by Gayle Forman and I liked the series enough to want to read the second book: Where She Went. As usual, I’ve been postponing this for almost an entire year and now that my best friend has caught up and finished reading it, I feel a certain desire to do as well so that we can discuss.

Of course I started The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare last year too. And of course, I never continued this. It’s becoming a bad habit, I see. I think it’s because I don’t want a series to end (especially Outlander because, well, if you’re reading it, the final book is bound to be tragic for sure considering the issues within). I absolutely loved Clockwork Angel and I’m a bit confused why I haven’t picked up its sequel, Clockwork Prince, sooner! I’m rectifying this mistake this summer, that’s for sure!

Finally, there is the Maze Runner series written by James Dashner. I’ve seen the Maze Runner last October and also read the book but never wrote a review on it. For shame! But that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it. I quite liked it and because The Maze Runner left me with a thousand and one questions, picking up The Scorch Trials before the second film comes out in theatre sounds like the right thing to do. Also, have you seen the film trailer? Check it out here.

Phew! That’s quite the list! I’ll be glad if I manage to complete one series if I’m being honest.

Are there any series you’ll be reading this summer or maybe, you’re joining the Summer of Series challenge too? Tell me all about it in the comments below and if you know a good book series, please let me know! If you do join the Summer of Series challenge, make sure to add #SummerofSeries to all your posts and share your progression. I’d really like the company! The more, the merrier 🙂

4 thoughts on “The Summer of Series Challenge”

    1. Eep! I’ve heard great things on His Fair Assassin that I can’t wait to start the series. Currently reading Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey series and I’m not too fond of it (I guess fairies aren’t really my thing) so I could use a boost in the series :p also, it’s my pleasure to join. It’s so much fun and it stimulates me to read. I’ve been in a reading slump the past few months so I was desperate for something to change this!

Leave a Reply

