Summer of Series: June

As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I’ve challenged myself to read one series a month for Summer of Series hosted by Danielle and Lili and for June, it was The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa. Although I already knew that I would struggle with the series (after reading the first book last year) I didn’t expect it to continue, believing that once I got into the story, it would be fine. At some point, and to some extent, it was fine – but that doesn’t erase the general “this-is-not-my-thing” feeling that I carried along throughout the series.

What’s The Iron Fey series about?

Meghan is a seventeen year old teenager when her younger brother Ethan is taken to the world of the fey. On her quest to find her brother, she comes across the many creatures of the Nevernever, including the King of the Summer Court and Queen of the Winter Court, who don’t like her presence in their kingdoms. She finds herself in the middle of a war as a new king rises, born from science and logical thinking. Meghan will have to decide between her life as a normal teenager or standing up to her destiny, freeing the Nevernever of the poison that the new King is leaking.

General thoughts on each book

Before I lose myself in a web of “meh” feelings, I’d like to point out that I’m sure that this is mostly coming from who I am and what I like to read.

The Iron King, the first book in the series, started of on a more negative note than the others. I was often confused and frustrated when I, as the reader, wasn’t included on all the creatures of the Nevernever. They suddenly popped into the story and even though I was sure I had never read about them before, Meghan seemed to know them, even knowing how evil these creatures were. As a reader who doesn’t read all too many faery stories, this bothered me a lot. Which is why I gave the first book only 3 stars. The book wasn’t bad but it wasn’t great either, lacking on a few (major) points.

When I began reading The Iron Daughter, I decided to no longer focus on the “I’m not being told about these creatures” issues I had from the previous book and focus more on the story itself and the way the characters interacted. Apparently, that helped a lot. However, it did highlight a few other flaws, especially with Meghan and the way she danced around the guy she loves and the guy who’s been her best friend. Let’s say she didn’t handle all of that very well but I suppose being a teenager is all about making silly mistakes. Most of the times, anyway.

But I have to admit, by the time I started The Iron Queen, I was pumped to continue this series. This installment was probably my favourite out of the series. Meghan became a stronger character and there were a few moments in there when I simply wanted to squeeze Meghan, Ash and Puck into a very tight hug. The creatures finally made sense and I enjoyed it so much. Everything was exactly what I expected them to be.

I’m not sure what happened to The Iron Knight. The story was told from a different point of view, oddly enough but when I read the Q&A section with the author it became clear why this happened. I can agree with Kagawa’s reasoning but that doesn’t mean it didn’t feel strange to start this book with a different pov. In the end, I enjoyed this particular view but I also missed a lot of interaction between Meghan and Ash. I sensed that this book was added to the series to close the deal and not leave it with open questions (although, I have one about a certain character that I liked a lot) but it felt separated from the previous three books. Belonging and yet, not really.

Overall opinion on the series

I’d give the entire series an average rating of 3.5 as I didn’t always like it as much as I wished to. It was okay, great at some points but it lacked in so many ways too. I think I’m a bit too old for this series and I have to admit that I don’t usually read about faeries and tend to avoid these kind of books. However, I always want to try out something new because I know from experience that tastes can change as you grow up but unfortunately, it wasn’t the case with this. I didn’t dislike the series but I didn’t not like it either.

To whom it might interest

This is perfect for readers between the age of 13 and 17 who like to read about faeries (plenty of them inside!) and them going onto many, many adventures in the Nevernever (faeryland). There is some romance woven into the story and the meaning of a true friendship will show that despite the strictest of vows, it might help you change your mind.

If you want to know more about what I thought of each book in more detail, I suggest you follow the links hidden behind the titles. If there’s not a link yet, they will be added during the next few weeks as I’ll be uploading my separate reviews.

What I’ll be reading in July for this challenge

The Legend Series by Marie Lu photo Legend Series_zpslox8ap0g.jpg

I’ll be reading the Legend series by Marie Lu. I hope this one will be more interesting for me to read. It’s set in a dystopian world with romance and that’s something I like!

I also hope to finish reading A Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon and maybe, one of the other three books I’ve mentioned in my first post of this challenge too.

I have three weeks off soon so plenty of time to read (hopefully!)

What are you going to read in July? Any plans on starting, continuing or ending a series?

 

One thought on “Summer of Series: June”

Leave a Reply

