Blog Focus: what you can expect!

Let’s be honest here, I haven’t been blogging much the past few months and I have to admit I had lost interest along the way because real life has been too stressful. It still is stressful.

However, this shouldn’t be an excuse. The fault lies entirely with me being unorganized and postponing literally everything when it becomes too much for me to handle. It was a fight-or-flight kind of reaction, in which I didn’t fight at all but fell apart entirely (multiple times). When you flee from the many tasks, the tasks…well, they don’t magically disappear, you know? Oh, no. Instead, more tasks start to appear. More tasks, more stress. It’s an ugly, vicious circle, my friends!

So with September always been “the start of a new year” in my mind (yes, I’m weird like that), I decided it was more than time to refocus on my blog and reflect on what I originally wanted to achieve with this blog and what has changed and what my new goals have become.

Writing book reviews is the reason why I started blogging. It’s the one thing that’s always been here and will never, ever disappear. At the beginning, I expected to post book reviews once each week but I can’t seem to keep to that schedule. To give myself time to ease back into blogging, I’ve set my goal to write one book review every two weeks.

The thing is, I have a demanding job with crazy hours and depending on how busy things are at the business, I can either read and finish a book and thus post a book review in time OR I’ve reached the deadline and have only read 20% of the book. This freaks me out and I want to stop stressing about this and just enjoy what I do here. This is supposed to be a hobby and not an extra job.

I suppose I get stressed because many book bloggers blog daily and I feel pressured to stick to that rhythm too, knowing there’s no way I can do that. 😦

This is something I’ve been wanting to do from the beginning but never did. I don’t know why exactly. I think it’s because I lose track of the books I bought/been given simply because there’s no space left in my room and I just…put the books down where there’s an empty spot. By the end of the month, I’m so confused when I look at my piles: “When did I buy this? Hmm.

This time, however, I am dedicated to do this and keep myself organised!

I’ve seen a lot of book hauls during the years I’ve been blogging so I decided to do this with a twist on my blog. As you might know, I have a booktube channel, and thought doing my hauls in a video to keep a nice balance between text, photos and videos on my blog might be fun for a change!

This is a topic I’m still considering and haven’t decided upon yet. I thought it might be fun to interview fellow book bloggers to begin with (and authors when I find the courage/feel experienced enough to do this). I remember reading these kind of interviews when I first started out and they gave me some insight to the blogging community and how others experienced this. Joining the book blogging community can be overwhelming sometimes and these interviews showed me we all had to start at the beginning, including all the highs and the lows.

It’s also a great way to meet (new) bloggers and learn more about them and their blog. You can never know enough people who love the same things!

P.S. If you’re interested to have an interview on my blog, contact me! (Authors included! I’m open for suggestions)


If you’ve had a bit of a look on my blog, you might have noticed I’ve got a category called “Scribbles“. I began this last year when I joined Writing101. Nothing much has happened since then but I do intend to use this more frequently in the future. I love writing (a blog post on the reasons why I write will follow shortly after this post) and I’d love to share some of it with you to get some feedback. Right now, the page is still kind of empty, but I do hope to change that soon!

I’m writing a book. Well, not the one book but multiple books. Did I mention I can be ambitious sometimes? Either way, for a while now I’ve been contemplating on starting a creative writing course to learn more about genres, characters, plots etc. I thought it might be interesting for me (and hopefully you too) to write about my experience and how this might have helped shaping my scribbles into a book one day.


To refrain myself from promising too much all at once, I’m keeping some topics “secret” for now until I feel organised enough and have found my rhythm to blogging again.

If there’s something specific you’d like to see on here, you’re more than welcome to share in the comments. It might help me get inspired and who knows, it might appear on the blog with my own kind of twist!

Love,

Fien xxx

This post is part of Blogging101 hosted by The Daily Post.

Leave a Reply

